• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 ric0ric

ric0ric

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 23 November 2013 - 12:57 PM

I’m rather new to streaming but have done so for a year or 2 via a Playstation 3 (PS3). Now though with PS4 such streaming is not possible. I’ve just discovered Air Play HD which works beautifully streaming to my iPad. If I buy an Apple TV (3?) am I going to be able to stream from my desktop Mac to Apple TV (and then on to my TV) or do I have to go via my iPad?

Thanks

• Tequila1pr likes this

#2 Danny

Danny

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 99 posts

Posted 23 November 2013 - 04:10 PM

I have some older Macs - so via your iPad or iPhone.

I do this for video I want to watch and then Trash. As to storing it in iTunes to re-watch.

Have AVHD server software on your Mac running. I made a folder on my desktop called Watch I put video in. Have that folder in AVHD.

Open AVHD on your iPad - it will see your desktop running AVHD

Select a video, in my case the Watch folder

Use Airplay to send to your AppleTV from your iPad

Works flawlessly

Newer Macs you should be a able to send directly to your AppleTV via Air Play.

• ric0ric likes this

#3 ric0ric

ric0ric

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 23 November 2013 - 05:57 PM

Danny hi,

Many thanks for your advice. I can get movies to stream onto my iPad. I was asking if it was possible to stream direct to Apple TV. I guess it’s not possible then.

Thank, Ric

#4 Danny

Danny

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 99 posts

Posted 23 November 2013 - 06:59 PM

You can, but you need to install the AVHD software first on your desktop.

Then using AVHD on your iPad to access your Mac running AVHD, just touch the Airplay icon on iPad to send video to AppleTV. Your iPad can even lock itself, and the video still plays. Then you can use the AppleTV remote to control. It is very well done my InMethod. More Apple like than Apple. 

Sorry first response not clear.